Wikia

Geek Feminism Wiki

List of academic organizations interested in women in CS

Talk0
1,075pages on
this wiki

This is a list of contacts at universities, colleges, and related institutions that can help reach college or university women in computer science or technology. Contacts for CS departments can be a part of this list because they help reach all students, including women. This list is meant to be useful for outreach about globally available opportunities or for finding local groups to contact to encourage women's participation in a particular event or locally available opportunities. It has been used to spread the word about Google Summer of Code and Outreach Porgram for Women since 2012. A second list of women groups in technology, which are not associated with academia, is also maintained on this wiki.

An automated script that can be used to contact all the contacts on this page is available and you can ask Marina Zhurakhinskaya to use it to spread the word about a globally available opportunity. All contacts listed on this page as of March 4, 2014 have been contacted by Marina about GSoC and OPW 2014.

To help spread the word about GSoC and OPW 2014. you can start with this prepared e-mail and modify it as you see fit to reach women groups and CS departaments. If you can find contact information for one listed university and/or a university you went to, send them the e-mail, and update the wiki page, it would be a huge help!

Organizations at, or dealing with, mixed-sex institutions Edit

Table of organizations at coed institutions
Name Why they're interesting Contact info Contacted (when, by whom)
American Association of University Women, STEM encouragement National Girls Collaborative Project (NGCP) connect@aauw.org

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Women In Computer Science at Brown University

wics@cs.brown.edu

July 16, 2012 by Camille

April 5, 2013 by Meg

Society of Women Engineers - Collegiate
University of Oregon WICS (Facebook) Goals: "Contribute to the success of UO women and other underrepresented groups in CS; Increase participation of women and other underrepresented groups in CS"


contact

Emily Schwarz, President eschwarz@cs.uoregon.edu

Lara Letaw, Chief Webmaster zephron@cs.uoregon.edu

Cheri Smith, Undergraduate Coordinator cheri@cs.uoregon.edu

26 Feb 2012 by Sumana

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Columbia University WICS

Rivka Levitan (rlevitan@cs.columbia.edu)

March 5 2012 by Stacey

April 5, 2013 by Meg

Women at School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon U chloefan@cmu.edu

February 6, 2012 by Fiona

April 5, 2013 by Meg

Courant's Women in Computing, NYU

PhD Chair: Adriana Lopez lopez@cs.nyu.edu, Graduate Chair: Elena Petrashen eap367@cims.nyu.edu, Undergraduate Chair: Kelly Martin kelly@cahico.com

Mach 5, 2012 by Stacey

April 5, 2013 by Meg

Women in CS, U of Toronto

Faculty members:


  • Jennifer Campbell campbell@cs.toronto.edu
  • Marsha Chechik checkik@cs.toronto.edu
  • Kelly Lyons kelly.lyons@utoronto.ca
  • Sheila McIlraith sheila@cs.toronto.edu
  • Christina Christara ccc@cs.toronto.edu
  • Renée Miller miller@cs.toronto.edu
  • Toniann Pitassi toni@cs.toronto.edu
  • Angela Demke Brown demke@cs.toronto.edu
  • Karen Reid reid@cs.toronto.edu
  • Faith Ellen faith@cs.toronto.edu
  • Bianca Schroeder bianca@cs.toronto.edu
  • Azadeh Farzan azadeh@cs.toronto.edu
  • Suzanne Stevenson suzanne@cs.toronto.edu
  • Diane Horton dianeh@cs.toronto.edu

March 5, 2012 by Stacey

Jennifer Campbell was contacted on April 15, 2013 by Meg

CSters, Rice U Elizabeth Fudge (ehf2@rice.edu) and Dhevi Rajendran (Dhevi@rice.edu)

March 5, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

WICS, U of Waterloo wics@cs.uwaterloo.ca

March 5, 2012 by Stacey

April 5, 2013 by Meg

CS Women's Network, Purdue cswn@cs.purdue.edu

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 5, 2013 by Meg

WICS at Stony Brook University wics@cs.sunysb.edu

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 5, 2013 by Meg

WCS at Rutgers

2012, 2013 contact: student president Lara Martin (laramar@eden.rutgers.edu)

2013 contact: ru_wcs@email.rutgers.edu

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

Lara Martin was contacted on April 5, 2013 by Meg


ru_wcs@email.rutgers.edu were contacted on April 8, 2013 by Yuriy Rusko

U of Maryland Baltimore County: Center for Women in Tech
  • Dr. Penny Rheingans, Director (rheingan@umbc.edu)
  • Dr. Susan Martin, Associate Director (susan@umbc.edu)
  • Katelyn Glasser, Assistant Director (kglasser@umbc.edu)

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

UMass CS Women's Group
Advancing Women in Engineering at Penn

2012, 2013 contact: Michele Grab, Director (mgrab@seas.upenn.edu)

awe@seas.upenn.edu

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 6 2013 by Meg

U of Wisconsin - Madison chapter of ACM-W

wacm@cs.wisc.edu

President:  Emily Jacobson jacobson@cs.wisc.edu

attempt was made March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 27, 2013 by Marina

U of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, WCS malinow1@illinois.edu, donofri2@illinois.edu

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Montana State University Association for Women in Computing Lots of community outreach even though we have few female CS members. awc@cs.montana.edu April 6 2013 by Meg
Claremont ACM-W All five colleges in the Claremont consortium, including Scripps (women's college) and Harvey Mudd.

Info session March 3

wacm-l@hmc.edu

April 15, 2013 by Meg
Princeton University, WICS

pwics@princeton.edu

February 26, 2012 by Fiona

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Stanford University WiCS

2012, 2013 student contacts: jfortuna@stanford.edu, omosolao@stanford.edu

wics-board@lists.stanford.edu

February 20, 2012 by Fiona

April 6, 2013 by Meg

wics-board@lists.stanford.edu was contacted on April 27, 2013 by Marina

Society of Women Engineers - MIT

swe-exec@mit.edu

to reach all CS students e-mail Anne Hunter (annemhunter@gmail.com), the CS department administrator

February 28, 2012 by Marina

April 5, 2013 by Marina

Women in CS at Boston University

2012 contact: Prof. Margrit Betke (betke@cs.bc.edu) 2013 contact: Krystal Blanco (ms.krystalblanco@gmail.com) organizes the Women in CS group CS department administrator:Christopher DeVits (cdevits@bu.edu)

Latest contact: wics.bostonuniversity@gmail.com

February 28, 2012 by Marina

April 5, 2013 by Marina

Harvard University

2012 contact: Tristen Dixey (tristen@seas.harvard.edu) Area Administrator for Computer Science & Electrical Engineering

2013 contact Becky Halmo (bhalmo@seas.harvard.edu) Coordinator for Area Administration



cswomen@seas.harvard.edu

April 5, 2013 by Marina
Brandeis Computer Science Department cosi@list.brandeis.edu
grads@cs.Brandeis.edu
April 27, 2013 by Marina

Tufts Women in Computer Science

Tufts ACM

wics@cs.tufts.edu

acm@eecs.tufts.edu

April 27, 2013 by Marina
Edinburgh University Hoppers

Jennifer Mace (englishmace@gmail.com); edinburghhoppers@gmail.com; @edihoppers on Twitter

February 28, 2012 by Marina;  Jennifer was planning an event there March 17

edinburghhoppers@gmail.com contacted on April 15, 2013 by Meg

Digital Women at Iowa State University digitalwomen.president@gmail.com April 6, 2013 by Meg
University of Calgary Women in Science and Engineering wise@ucalgary.ca

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Access Program for Women in Science and Engineering
Cameco NSERC Prairie Chair Women in Science and Engineering Prairie_WISE@cs.usask.ca

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Carleton University Women in Science and Engineering (CU-WISE)  rkhazal@connect.carleton.ca

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Salem College Women in Science and Mathematics Program (WISM)

"We seek to position [young women] to not just enter the field of matematics or science, but to impact it"

Professor of Mathematics Dr. Paula Young (but teaches some computer science courses too) paula.young@salem.edu

2012 by Kari R

April 27, 2013 by Marina

University of Cambridge women@cl Katherine Cisek - kmc42@cl.cam.ac.uk March 4, 2014 by Tim C.
Women in Science and Engineering groups in Canada Contact info for 17 groups listed on the page; note that University of Toronto organization listed above is a different organization, so there is no duplication

University of San Francisco, WiCS

wicsboard@cs.usfca.edu (address bounces)

Prof. Patricia Francis Lyon pfrancislyon@cs.usfca.edu

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Dartmouth Women in Computer Science

Women.in.Computer.Science@dartmouth.edu

March 4, 2014 by Tim C.
University of Texas, El Paso, SWE swe-members@utep.edu
University of Texas Pan American, SWE sweutpa@gmail.com
CS Women at UMss Amherst women@cs.umass.edu
Technical University of Denmark

Prof. Jørgen Villadsen jovi@dtu.dk - director of studies for the CS department who usually sends out information to students

Single-sex colleges and universities Edit

Trinity Washington University

Table of women's colleges with STEM programs
Name Why they're interesting Contact info/Contacted?
Texas Woman's University math & CS department MathCS@twu.edu

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Fatima Jinnah Women University

Assistant Professor Mr. Nadeem Fakhar Maliknadeem@fjwu.edu.pk

Coordinator Ms. Sadia Mushtaqsadia_bhs@yahoo.com

Computer Science Department:mcs@fjwu.edu.pk

2012 comment: addresses seem iffy, bounce.

February 26, 2012 by Sumana

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Spelbots & other Spelman College STEM orgs

CONTACT FORM

http://www.spelbots.org/contact/

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Wesleyan College

website

Susan Allen, Senior Development Officer, sallen@wesleyancollege.edu

March 6 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Bryn Mawr College emailed all majors (dkumar@brynmawr.edu)

February 26, 2012 by Fiona

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Barnard College

website

Wellesley College

Prof. Eni Mustafaraj is a contact person - http://cs.wellesley.edu/~eni/eni.mustafaraj@wellesley.edu

February 23, 2012 talk by Sumana

April 27, 2013 by Marina

College of St. Benedict

website

Noreen Herzfeld (NHERZFELD@CSBSJU.EDU)

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

St. Catherine University
Cottey College Kathy Taylor (ktaylor@cottey.edu)

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

College of Saint Mary
College of Saint Elizabeth
Women's College at Georgian Court U
Smith College

contact

Chair of the Department Dominique Thiébaut dthiebaut@smith.edu

Administrative Assistant of the Department Daryl Jett djett@email.smith.edu

February 26, 2012 and March 10, 2012 by Sumana
Midway College
College of New Rochelle
Russell Sage College Biology & Chemistry (but no CS) Tom Sweeny (sweent@sage.edu)

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Stern, Yeshiva University CS Thomas Otway (otway@yu.edu)

March 6, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Bennett College (North Carolina, USA) Byong Lee, Math and CS department chair, (blee@bennett.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Meredith College

Meredith Math and CS

Jackquelin Dietz, Department Head,(dietzjac@meredith.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Peace College Biology (but no CS)
Salem College Biology, Chemistry, & Math (but no CS)
Ursuline College Biology, Chemistry, & Math (but no CS)
Bay Path College Biology (no CS)
Mount Holyoke College CONTACT FORM

March 10, 2012 by Sumana

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Pine Manor College Biology (no CS)
Simmons College Joanne Saro (joanne.saro@simmons.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Columbia College (South Carolina, USA)

From directory when searching for business, mathematics, and sciences department

Dr. Nieves A. McNulty
Professor of Mathematics and Computer and Information Science;
Program Coordinator, Mathematics
(803) 786-3844

nmcnulty@columbiasc.edu

Dr. Madeleine Schep
Associate Professor of Mathematics and Computer and Information Science;
Program Coordinator, Computer and Information Science
(803) 786-3714

mschep@columbiasc.edu

April 27, 2013 by Marina
Converse College Jim Hymas, Math Department Head, (jim.hymas@converse.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Hollins University Julie Clark, Math and CS Department Chair, (jclark@hollins.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Scripps College CS through consortium (HMC,Pomona) March 3, 2012 info session

Saint Joseph College

website

Ekaterina Lioutikova, Math Department Chair, (elioutikova@sjc.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Agnes Scott College

website

Myrtle Lewin, Math Department, (mlewin@agnesscott.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Brenau U

website

Saint Mary's College (Indiana, USA)

website










Math Department

Math and CS Department Chair:

Joanne R. Snow

jsnow@saintmarys.edu














Phone: 574-284-4491

April 27, 2013 by Marina

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

website

Ellen Cunningham, Math Department, (ecunningham@smwc.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Notre Dame of Maryland U
Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Cedar Crest College rgetz@cedarcrest.edu and mewilde@cedarcrest.edu (Math Department)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Chatham U

website

Prof. Aaron Trout

atrout@chatham.edu

April 27, 2013 by Marina
Moore College of Art & Design web design skaylor@moore.edu (Department Head)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Wilson College

Math and CS Dept

Karen Adams (karen.adams@wilson.edu)

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Mary Baldwin College Jodie Miller (Math Dept professor) jmiller@mbc.edu

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Sweet Briar College cbarnes@sbc.edu, bkirk@sbc.edu, jrkirkwood@sbc.edu, robeva@sbc.edu, wassell@sbc.edu

March 7,  2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Alverno College adonica.randall@alverno.edu, julie.jordan@alverno.edu, linda.ehley@alverno.edu, darryl.jewett@alverno.edu

March 7,  2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Judson College  rprice@judson.edu Ray Price Math Department Head

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Mount St. Mary's College Math, Chemistry, Biochem (no CS it seems) Michele Starkey (Math Dept Head) mstarkey@msmc.la.edu

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Women's College of the U of Denver

Directory - search for Computer Science

Prof. Ramki Thurimella ramki@cs.du.edu

Prof. Anneliese Andrewsandrews@cs.du.edu

April 27, 2013 by Marina
Mount Mary College Bio, Chem (no CS it seems) dosemagd@mtmary.edu Debra Dosemagen Math Dept Chair

March 7, 2012 by Stacey

April 15, 2013 by Meg

Right now these lists are very North America-centric because that's what I am personally concentrating on as I get the word out about GSoC to increase the number of women who apply for summer 2012. Feel free to change, divide up geographically, add, etc. And please remove colleges that have NO science/technology/engineering/mathematics curriculum. Sumana Harihareswara, Wikimedia Foundation Volunteer Development Coordinator 07:38, February 26, 2012 (UTC)

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki